The Bastard and the Heir by Eden Finley & Saxon James

★ – 5/5

🌶️ – 3.5/5

DARCY

The death of my father not only rips out my heart but tears open my entire life.

His funeral brings the appearance of his bastard son, the byproduct of my father’s apparent misadventures. Wren Porter is a prickly, untrusting beef cake in an ill-fitting suit, and he looks so much more the part of a Ritcherson than I do.

Now it’s on me to teach him the family business while ignoring my attraction to the man the world thinks is my brother.

All it would take is one misstep for him to find out the secret my father literally took to his grave.

He’s not the bastard son.

I am.

Wren’s the true heir to the Ritcherson fortune, but I’ve fought my whole life for my place at the table. If anyone discovers the truth, I’ll lose everything.

I used to think the worst thing that could happen would be losing the company, but the closer I get to Wren, I realize the biggest thing on the line is my heart.

The Bastard and the Heir is a medium angst romance between two men who are absolutely, positively not related. The world just thinks they are.

❥ Dual POV

❥ Rich Guy

❥ Low Angst

❥ Taboo Love

These two authors just never disappoint, and I was hooked as I’ve been with all of their other MM romances.

Okay first, about the book.. Obviously it’s about two men. They meet for the first time at their father’s funeral (yep, you read that right), and Wren and Darcy are only born a few weeks apart, which makes Wren seemingly the Bastard son born by his father’s mistress. He didn’t want anything to do with the Ritchersons, but his mom makes him attend the funeral where he meets his 3 half brothers. Only Darcy is welcoming and offers Wren a place amongst them and at their multimillion family company. Wren and Darcy gets close, but Darcy is burdened by guilt because he is keeping a major secret, one Wren eventually discovers, which suddenly open some doors they’re both eager to step through. But it’s complicated, really really complicated…

I didn’t do my homework before reading this book. I actually thought it wouldn’t be connected with the Sadenverse, so I was as surprised as I was first time I found out that all of their MM romances are connected. Darcy didn’t give it away for me, but when Remy and Sanden were mentioned, it clicked. I was ecstatic 😂 Darcy from The Husband Hoax. I feel so dumb that I didn’t realize it when he was talking about Émile, but to be fair, it’s A LOT of books and names to keep track on. And then Wren from Up in Flames, and in this book we get a little insight in how Remy was during while him and Sanden were apart in Up in Flames. I LOVED IT!! It was like coming home.

Leave a comment