Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

🤍 Song to set the mood🤍

Where Love Meets Destiny #1

Not suitable for anyone under 18 years of age.

⭐⭐⭐
🌶️🌶️

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

❥ Dual POV ❥ Small Town Vibe ❥ Insta-love
❥ Family Drama (Like murder drama and stuff)
❥ Beta Male ❥ Trauma ❥ Hurt / Comfort

I’ve seen so many reviews and recommendations on this book on bookstagram, and I thought it was a book I just had to read.

I think maybe I would have enjoyed the book more if I hadn’t seen it hyped so much, because I was greatly disappointed. I’m sorry, I know I’m a minority, but I was so underwhelmed by this book.

It was well-written, it did get to my emotions, and I gasped out loud at one point, IYKYK. I even went as far as to call Mia Sheridan a sadist at one point, sorry! Usually I love when I get all WHAT THE ACTUAL FUDGE!!! but it felt totally unnecessary in this book, and I almost DNF’d it on the spot, actually I was close to doing that twice during the book.

I kept seeing reels about the thunderstorm scene, and I was looking forward to it, again – I shouldn’t have paid attention to the hype – and I was like “that’s it?” once I got to it. I was prepared to be swooned to my core – I wasn’t.

Actually I didn’t swoon much at all, and I love to swoon. Maybe it was the insta-love that put me off. I don’t know. I also had to remind myself that these two are in the beginning of their 20s.

I really, really disliked Travis. Victoria? I thought she would play a bigger part in the story as the great villain, and I don’t know why I was disappointed that she didn’t. She got off pretty easy IMO.

So yea, I don’t know a lot of things it seems, I just know that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would, and I might have enjoyed it more if I hadn’t gotten caught up with the hype.

Also, Bree and her trauma? I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll just say that I was surprised how it was dealt with.

Leave a comment