The Hookup Mix-up by Riley Hart

ARC Review

🤍 Song to set the mood🤍

Franklin U 2 #1

Not suitable for anyone under 18 years of age.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Contains 🌶️

Perry
I moved to San Luco to get to know my brother, and so far, it’s been great. Working as a bartender at Shenanigans, a bar close to Franklin University, there are beautiful men and women everywhere. When a hot guy falls into my arms at a party, I’m down for some naughty fun. Until I realize he’s way too drunk for anything to happen. Thankfully, we agree to meet up the next day.

One near-kiss later, I discover Theo has no idea I’ve been hitting on him. He thinks we’re hanging out as buddies, and to my great regret, says he’s straight. How did I misread this situation when I thought he was giving me all the right signals?

Theo
Perry thinks I’m a nine … a nine! Sure, I’m not into dudes, but it’s flattering that someone as attractive as him thinks I’m hot. Despite the confusion, Perry and I click and agree to keep hanging out. The more time I spend with him, the more I realize there’s a part of myself I’ve been ignoring. One that’s super bi and wants Perry as more than a friend.

Trying to study with him makes things hard for me…below the belt. Unfortunately, his abandonment issues have him open to a fling and nothing more, while I’m catching feelings in a big way. Can I be satisfied with a hookup? Or should I find a way to convince him to take a chance on making this something real?

❥ Dual POV ❥ MM Romance
❥ Strangers to Friends to Lovers
❥ Hookup Gone Wrong ❥ Bi-Awakening
❥ Oblivious MC ❥ Golden Retriever MC

This was such a sweet and fun book to read, and it was hard to stop once I started. Both Perry and Theo were such lovable characters, both oblivious in their own way.

It was really great to see so much of Brax and Ty again from the first Franklin U series, along with a few of the other guys running around Franklin U, and Shenanigans – the bar where Perry works along with Ty.

I loved that Perry and Ty had built such a strong relationship despite of their dad. It made my heart very happy, and it also made me happy to see Ty still happy and thriving, and Brax too.

Anyways, The Hookup Mix-up is very low angst, and it was just what I needed. It’s full of love and acceptance, about support, not just between the main characters, but also from their friends and family. I loved Perry’s relationship with his mom, and Theo’s relationship with his family.

Most of all I loved Theo, he was so adorable, and I loved how Theo and Perry interacted as both friends and when it became something more than friends. I loved how Theo embraced his sexuality, his feelings and Perry, and I loved how Perry just embraced everything that was Theo, and supported him with studies and everything else. I just loved everything about this book.

Leave a comment