Our Radiant Embers by Zarah Detand

ARC Review

Not suitable for anyone under 18 years of age.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Contains 🌶️

Their rivalry? Explosive. Their chemistry? Magical.

When a regrettable drunken hookup becomes your partner in a high-stakes magical project, sparks are bound to fly—just not the kind Liam Morgan was hoping for. Teaming up with Adam Harrington, the golden boy of a legendary magical lineage, was not on his to-do list.

Adam, the epitome of tailored perfection, has accepted the need to lock his true self in the closet. Liam, on the other hand, wears his nonconformity like a badge of honour, challenging the elite’s silken norms with every step he takes.

Tasked with revolutionising urban development in an eco-friendly manner, their forced collaboration is marked by snark, resentment, and a magnetic undercurrent of attraction. But as their reluctant partnership turns into a bond that’s hard to deny, a plot for power simmers, threatening to unleash chaos that could sweep the city into a maelstrom of uncontrolled magic.

❥ Dual POV ❥ MM Romance
❥ Enemies to Lovers ❥ Slow Burn
❥ Opposites Attract ❥ Snark and Banter
❥ Family Rivals ❥ Magical Realism ❥ HEA

I loved absolutely everything about this book.

Firstly, I haven’t read a lot of books with magical realism, so I don’t have much to compare with, but from this book I can say that I really enjoyed it. I loved being able to picture the modern London as I was reading, and I loved the whole magic society and how it differs from place to place with the magic systems and such. I found it really interesting and intriguing. I liked the small details such as the school system as to how the magic society could maintain being a secret while living among non-magical people in London.

The whole family rivalries and feuds gave me such a Bridgerton vibe, which I think goes well with how these families of magic stick to old traditions and such, well.. Bridgerton with a lot more hostility and a bit of magic.

The plot was awesome, and I was really on the edge of my seat for the last part of the book. It was really intense.

And then there’s the love story in-between all of it, and it had me swooning and pining so hard. I was ready to hate Adam as the book started, but it didn’t take long for both Liam and Adam to capture my heart completely. Their banter was on point and so enjoyable, I couldn’t help but laugh out loud a few times as I was reading. Their chemistry was indeed magical.

(My heart broke for 8 days in fictional time)

I also really loved Liam’s family and their whole dynamic – even I felt at home at their house. Obviously I wasn’t a huge fan of Adam’s family, but I loved his relationship with his brother, and how strong their bond was, and how protective Adam was. I also enjoyed Adam’s relationship with Cassandra, his best friend/fiancé – she was hilarious as well.

With his eyes crinkled up at the corners, he was the prettiest guy I’d ever seen.

It would have been unforgivably clichéd to liken Liam’s laugh to the sun bursting through the clouds.

Adam’s laugh glowed like the sunlight that tangled in the bedsheets.

Leave a comment