If We Survive by Rianne Elizabeth

ARC Review

Inevitable #1

🤍 Song to set the mood🤍

Not suitable for anyone under 18 years of age.
Check trigger warnings.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Contains 🌶️

Kai
It’s all fun and games until someone gets abducted.
It’s me – I am someone.
Maybe if I’d fluttered my eyelashes a little harder, I’d be straddling a six-foot-two beefcake instead of sitting on a grubby mattress with a chain wrapped around my neck.
Now, I’m not against a bit of bondage, but this certainly isn’t doing it for me.
Trust me to go on the best first date of my life, only to end up in a derelict warehouse.
Note to self: Don’t online date, but if you do, make sure you end the night with a mind-blowing orgasm rather than fighting to survive.

❥ MM Romance
❥ Abduction ❥ Forced Proximity ❥ Hurt/Comfort
❥ Size Difference ❥ Mental Health REP ❥ Dark Humor

If We Survive had me switching between chuckling, crying and swooning throughout the whole book. I didn’t think it would have such a huge effect on me, since it’s a bit on the shorter side (<300), but well, here we are.

I can’t say too much about the plot, since it’s easily spoiled, so I’m just going to swoon about Kai and Eden for a bit.

Kai had me laughing several times, but his story is also the one that broke me the most. Not just during his abduction, but his past as well. Everything after was a bit heartbreaking as well.

And Eden… we have to leave him a bit mysterious, but let me just tell you that I would have fallen for his kind of crazy as well. He will do absolutely ANYTHING for Kai, he’s a tiny bit possessive, he’s not afraid to cry and he always knows just the right thing to say.

Despite being in captivity and such, the book still has plenty of spice. What’s a little touching, when the others in the room are sleeping…

The book is pretty dark, and you should read the trigger warnings. I don’t know if I would call it dark romance, because well, it’s more like two people in a really, really bad situation, and horrible things happen to them and around them, and it’s awful, and somehow they find a bit of joy in each other despite of everything.

It will pull on your heartstrings and most likely make you cry. But it’s what I love the most about a book really, how it can break your heart and mend it back together, and Rianne Elizabeth did it so effortlessly.

This is called book one in a series, I think? But it’s a complete standalone, no cliffhangers or anything, so if you’re worried about that, don’t be.

Leave a comment